So this is where the notebooks from the Nomadic Studio retrogressively start.

I didn’t really know about blogging at the beginning of this journey, but with the acquisition a five and a half tonne truck I hope to blend various sketchbooks and document the adventure from now. Because  this particular journey started in 2009 posts will be reasonably chronological from then but will also be peppered with contemporary posts as events occur. From here-on-in this blog will track findings from the Nomadic Studio, contain posts from the Studio Kitchen diary and follow my, Sarah Poland’s,  current exhibitions.

.

It started with an idea; romantic, exciting, practical, poetic certainly. I’d completed a year long series of paintings titled Either Side of the Night, shown at Belgrave St. Ives in October 2008 and promptly let go of my studio in Cornwall with the intention to save on studio rent while I come up with the next step. It was a wonderful studio, five minutes from the sea, a dream I’d say and perhaps a bit daft to let go of. But I felt that something else needed to happen. That something, galvanised itself into an idea for a travelling live-in studio. To allow me to travel and work. More precisely, to travel up to the Highlands where I grew up, from Cornwall where I had spent nearly ten years, and a have a space of my own in which to stay with the ability to move when inclined. If I had to batten down and hide out a storm, hey it wouldn’t matter, it wasn’t a waste of a holiday, after all I could still be working away and time would not be limited.

Next to decide was what and how big, having already decided on a luton box truck and preferably a Mercedes (I seem to have been converted), I had a first glance at Ebay to see what was there. And there it was, a five an a half tonne ex-removals lorry with a few days to go on the auction!
Bid now! No, wait and come in at the last moment. So I waited. I actually had no internet access, visited a boyfriend in Devon (deep in a valley with no internet) who’s invaluable help I had enlisted, and we had to find a friend in town.

Sweat sweat. Quick time’s running out. Only half an hour to go. I haven’t looked at anything else. Is it the right thing? It is rather larger than I had anticipated. It is a great vehicle though. Dive in, bid…connection slow… ‘Congratulations You are the Highest Bidder’, ‘You have won Mercedes 609d Luton Box Truck’  WOOWOO!

So it was just like that. Although I’m still not sure why they say you’ve ‘won’ it, but never mind. On the train we went to Leamington Spa; duvet, dog, lists of things to check on the vehicle and a lot of excitement in hand. The first night ever was spent in Worcester City by the canal, I felt as though we were a part of a folk song.

.

MyVan

.The Truck.

Here the Nomadic Studio was born.

.

.

Leave a Reply

